University of Aberdeen was founded in 1495 and is now the third oldest university in Scotland and the fifth oldest university in the United Kingdom. Located in the Old Aberdeen, the historic area of sea-side Aberdeen city in the north-east Scotland, the King’s College is the landmark and origin of University of Aberdeen. The college was first established by Bishop of Aberdeen and Chancellor of Scotland, William Elphinstone, to train doctors, teachers and clergy. Now, University of Aberdeen has become a notable university with three colleges: College of Life Sciences & Medicine, College of Physical Sciences, and College of Arts and Social Sciences, providing over 550 first degree programmes and more that 110 taught masters programmes. With over 14,000 students from 120 nationalities and over 3,000 staff (about 1,400 are academic), it is truly an international university with excellent teaching and research outcomes. The Chancellor of University is Lord Wilson of Tillyorn, the former governor of Hong Kong.